Design &

How To




  Home Page



Pueblo Languages

The native languages of today’s Pueblo peoples are grouped into three main language families: Tano, Keres, and Zuni. There are three separate dialects within the Tanoan language: Tewa, Tiwa, and Towa.

     Pueblo Peoples

     Pueblo Languages
     Ceremonial Dances
     Today's Art Market
Spotlight: Shawn Tafoya

Each Pueblo speaks a specific language or dialect:

· Tiwa dialect is spoken in Taos, Picuris, Sandia, and Isleta Pueblos.
· Tewa dialect is spoken in San Juan, Santa Clara, San Ildefonso, Nambe, Tesuque, and Pojoaque Pueblos.
· Towa dialect is spoken only in Jemez Pueblo.
Keres - The Keresan languages are spoken by the Acoma, Cochiti, Laguna, San Felipe, Santa Ana, Santo Domingo, and Zia Pueblos.
Zuni - Only Zuni Pueblo uses the Zuni language.

Some linguists consider the Uto-Aztecan language that Hopi people speak to be a fourth division of the Pueblo language families. Hopis living on First Mesa or Hano, however, are Tewa speakers.

Evelyn Quintana (San Juan Pueblo) speaks about the
loss of the Tewa language.

 School for Advanced Research